Formula 1 Driver Max Chilton To Race At Goodwood Revival

Filed under: Classic News,Goodwood |
Max Chilton at the 2013 Goodwood Festival of Speed

Max Chilton at the 2013 Goodwood Festival of Speed

Marussia Formula 1 driver Max Chilton will become the first contemporary grand prix racer for nine years to contest the Goodwood Revival when he climbs behind the wheel for the September 12-14 event.

British racer Chilton, who is in his second year of F1 with the team, will race in the Shelby Cup, a one-off event being held to mark 60 years of the small-block V8 engine and the 50th anniversary of one of the most iconic cars to ever use the powerplant, the Ford Mustang.

With only cars powered by small-block V8s eligible for the race, Chilton will share a 1965 Mustang with Richard Dutton, boss of hugely-successful junior single-seater squad Fortec Motorsport.

The last F1 race driver to take part at the Revival was Vitantonio Liuzzi in 2005, while former world champion Damon Hill was also an active grand prix competitor when he raced at the inaugural event in 1998.

‘Mr Bean’ actor Rowan Atkinson, who has become a Goodwood regular in recent years, will race a 1964 Ford Falcon while former British Touring Car champions Matt Neal and Gordon Shedden will drive, respectively, a Studebaker Lark 500 and a Mustang.

DSC880420_060814gw2_7935aReigning BTCC champion Andrew Jordan, who will also race in the St Mary’s Trophy and the RAC TT Celebration, will partner Oliver Bryant in a 1965 Plymouth Barracuda while his father Mike – also a BTCC racewinner – will share Andy Yool’s Mustang.

Touring car legends Anthony Reid and Steve Soper will be out in force; Reid a Dodge Dart and Soper sharing a Mustang with another star of Super Touring, Patrick Watts, while five-time Le Mans winner Emanuele Pirro will be in Roger Wills’ Mercury Comet Cyclone.

Mat Jackson, a 19-time racewinner in the BTCC, will share Henry Mann’s Mustang, run in the legendary red and gold livery of Alan Mann Racing while sportscar legend Henri Pescarolo will share Robert Sarrailh’s Ford Falcon Sprint.