Classic Car Racing at Cadwell

Filed under: Classic News,Racing |
The Classic Touring Car Racing Club's sixth championship meeting of the season takes place this weekend (September 08/09) at Cadwell Park's spectacular track which swoops up and down through woods near Louth. The first of the club’s championship races starts at 3pm on Saturday and will amalgamate rounds of the Autoglym Post Historic and the Hammerite Group One Touring Car Championships which cater for pre ’74 and pre ’83 models. This season there have been some epic battles between the bellowing Rover V8 of the current Group One leader Tim Scott-Andrews and the howling Jaguar XJ12 of David Howard who is the reigning Post Historics champion. The colourful BMW of Switzerland-based Dr. William Jenkins is likely to be leading the chase. Next up at 10.15 on Sunday is the SVG Motorsport Pre ’93 Touring Car Championship which started the season as a BMW benefit, thanks to the efforts of Lawrie Dunster, Paul Bellamy and local hero Roger Stanford. But more recently the Ford Cosworths driven by up-and-coming Richard Millar and wily veteran Malcolm Wise have been in the mix as well. In fact Millar scored maximum points at Thruxton. The newest cars will appear in the Sub Zero: Wolf Classic Thunder Championship so expect to see a Nissan R32 GTR Skyline, M3 BMWs, Subaru Imprezas, Sierra Cosworths and a Mazda RX7 among others. But the headline hot news is the prospect of a face-off between the 7-litre Aussie V8s of Andy Robinson who drives a fabulous, fire-breathing Falcon and Joss Ronchetti who has a mighty Monaro to manhandle around the twisty track. Garrie Whittaker leads the championship with a five-point advantage over Mark Biggers, while Lawrie Dunster, Paul Dobson and Andy Johnson are close behind. All five drivers have entered as each is desperate for more points. The Pro Driver Blue Oval Saloon Series will be incorporated with the Classic Thunder event this weekend. Ashley Bird and his Sierra XR4i have proved a winning combination so far but behind him the championship is very tight: reigning champion Brian Long has 59 points, his Fiesta rival Rob Taylor 54 and Terence Clark 53, while Ronnie Haines, Piers Grange and Paul Nevill all have 52 points. The oldest cars (Pre ’66) are in the Thermex Classic Saloon and Historic Touring Car Championship. The most recent round at Mallory featured a thrilling battle between Phil Manser’s Mini Cooper and the Fords of the winners of the two races, father and son Richard and Steven Sprigg, so expect a re-run of that rivalry. Old hand Roger Stanford has also decided to join in the fun with his left-hand drive Lotus Cortina. The Pre ‘93s, Classic Thunder and BOSS will all race again during Sunday afternoon. The CTCRC championship rounds will be part of a BARC National programme which also includes races for Caterhams, MGs, Legends and 125cc karts.Tags:,