BHRC Rally North Wales award winners announced

Filed under: Classic News,Racing |
The special award winners from the second round of the 2016 Mintex MSA British Historic Rally Championship, Rally North Wales (Saturday 2 April) have been announced following the rally that also featured the second rounds of the Holton Homes Clubmans Challenge and the Welsh Challenge. The Holton Homes Clubmans Challenge is for crews using a maximum of six tyres per rally. The top overall finishers from the Clubmans Challenge field were Ben Friend and Cliffy Simmons (Ford Escort Mk2) who took a superb ninth overall in their Pinto-powered car against many more powerful cars. The ‘Spirit of the Rally’ product award from Fuchs Lubricants went to Yorkshireman Adam Milner who set a blistering pace on the early stages in his 1600cc Ford Escort Mk1. He was joint second fastest historic on the opening Dyfi stage despite this being his first time competing in the area. Sadly he retired after a gentle roll in SS3 but once again underlined his tremendous natural ability. Phil Harris and Graham Wild collected the award for the ‘Best Improvement on Seeding’, which is a set of axle brake pads from Mintex. Despite some tough conditions for their Mini Cooper S, they battled to the finish to make it eight class wins in a row. A brief film report of the Rally North Wales action is now available: The full TV report will be broadcast on Motors TV on the evening of Friday 15 April, and the final time for the programme will be confirmed shortly.Tags:,