Filed under: Classic News |
The historic motoring industry, classic car fans and historic motorsport enthusiasts are invited to suggest candidates for the inaugural International Historic Motoring Awards (IHMA), in association with EFG International private bank and Octane magazine. The awards will be judged by a panel of well-known experts from museums and collections, major historic motoring events, historic motor racing and the world of contemporary car design. Chief Pebble Beach Concours judge Ed Gilbertson and leading car designer Peter Stevens are already confirmed, together with five-times Le Mans winner Derek Bell, Robert Coucher, the International Editor of Octane, internationally-renowned historic car expert Simon Kidston and Lady Susie Moss, wife of racing legend Sir Stirling Moss. The winners will be announced at an awards evening at London’s magnificent St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel on Wednesday 16th November. Dennis Publishing, one of the world’s leading independent publishers, has developed the International Historic Motoring Awards jointly in partnership with the specialist historic motoring event management company Historic Promotions. Duncan Wiltshire of Historic Promotions said, “Historic cars generate a tremendous emotional response in many people. They are fascinating pieces of social history, each so evocative of the era from which it originates. The industry that has grown up around them has evolved into one that is significant worldwide, and it’s one that has its foundations in a real love of the machines and the heritage around which it centres.” Geoff Love, Director of Publishing at Dennis Media commented, “I can think of few other areas where leading edge technology and modern practices combine with traditional skills and craftsmanship, and it seems only fitting to celebrate the people, organisations and products that really stand out.” Awards will be given in the following categories: ■Museum or Collection of the Year ■Restoration of the Year ■Innovation of the Year ■Book of the Year ■Club of the Year ■Industry Champion of the Year ■Race Series of the Year ■Motorsport Event of the Year ■Motoring Event of the Year ■Car of the Year ■Personal Achievement of the Year ■Lifetime Achievement Award As well as submitting nominations, the industry and members of the public are invited to vote for the Car of the Year. Nominations and Car of the Year votes can be made via www.historicmotoringawards.com. Nominations close on September 30th 2011.Tags:,