Harrold Victorious in Retro Rallycross Challenge at Croft

Filed under: Classic News,Racing |

Peter Harold's VW Beetle at CroftReigning John Button Memorial Trophy winner Ray Morgan qualified on pole position for the Retro Rallycross final in his Ford Escort, but it was Harrold who made the best start and led throughout the race to claim victory, holding off Morgan who was never far behind. The day didn't go completely to plan for Harrold, he retired from heat one due to contact straight after the start line, but recovered to make it to the front row of the final.

“Overall it's been a really good day, I've really enjoyed it and the car has been great,” said Harrold after the final.

Local driver Lance Foster slotted into third position at the start and held the position to the finish, just ahead of Retro Rallycross newcomer Stuart Bowes in fourth, driving a Mini formally built by Mike Dresser. Thanks to sterling work of the Maynard team, Neil Maynard made it to Croft in his Triumph TR8. Maynard ran fifth in the opening laps of the final but was passed by Scottish driver Ian Biagi on lap three.

In the new Super Retro category, Scottish Vauxhall Astra driver Dave Black dominated through the heats, setting fastest time in each. Fellow Vauxhall driver Darren Grimston was second in heat one but had to miss heat two while his team repaired a sump gasket problem, but he was able to get back out for heat three, where he was again second. In the final, Grimston made the best getaway but was passed by Black at turn one, the Scotsman leading throughout the race with Grimston never far behind.  Paul Smith had one of his best races in his Retro Rallycross career and was third on the first lap. Rallycross debutant Daniel Greaves, driving a Mazda 323, took the place at the end of lap one, but Smith didn't let him get away. The battle ended when Greaves retired with smoke billowing from the rear of his car at the start of the last lap.

The Retro Rallycross Challenge had the pleasure of being joined by rallying legend Jimmy McRae as Guest of Honour at Croft. Jimmy spent time chatting to drivers and fans, and was impressed by Retro Rallycross.

Retro Rallycross, Final Result  1: James Harrold – Volkswagen Beetle 2: Ray Morgan – Ford Escort BDA 3: Lance Foster – British Leyland Mini 4: Stewart Bowes – Austin Mini 5: Ian Biagi – Mini Clubman 6: Neil Maynard – Triumph TR8

Super Retro, Final Result 1: Dave Black – Vauxhall Astra GTE 2: Darren Grimston – Vauxhall Nova Widetrack 3: Paul Smith – Volkswagen Polo 4: Daniel Greaves – Mazda 323

Eurosport TV Schedule for round 1: Saturday 21st March - 15:00h Sunday 22nd March - 10:30h and 20:00h Monday 30th March - 14:00h